Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

Life or Something Like It
...written on 12.10.04, @ 10:27 am

Jess, who is either not right in the head or highly optimistic about my writing skills, has asked me to be a guest blogger over at �Life or Something Like It�. You can check out my first post here. Thank you for the vote of confidence Jess.

What I find odd about the whole �life or something like it� thing is that unbeknownst to most of my readers� �Born Under a Fire Sign� used to be named �Life or Something Like It� back at its inception. I admit the first time Jess left me a comment it startled me a little but perhaps it�s fate. So� that�s your Rue trivia of the day.

Shortly after my Pee Test Tango I thought it would be prudent to perhaps mention the whole ordeal to the potential father. I�ve decided that full disclosure is the way to go with Todd since I started out talking to him that way. It wasn�t that I�ve never fully disclosed information to previous suitors� it was just that keeping things to myself was easier in the long run. Since I didn�t think things would go as far as they have I never felt the need to withhold information from Todd. Perhaps that should have been my biggest clue that this is something completely different than I�ve ever dealt with.

Upon learning that I had anxiously sat around for 5 minutes by myself waiting for a couple of lines to show up or not, he said �well, you could have called me and I would have sat on the phone with you�. However sweet that may be I told him there were some things that single girls just had to do alone. Peeing on a stick is one of them.

It was at that point that he had to tell me all about the time he got drunk and took a pregnancy test. I�m not kidding. I think the telling was sparked by my minor jealousy over the efficiency with which men can urinate. Apparently one drunken evening the subject of pregnancy tests came up amongst him and his friends. Being the funny guys they are, they hoofed it over to the local convenience store and picked up a couple of boxes (seems like a really expensive form of entertainment). Just the image of a drunken man trying to pee on a stick makes me giggle and Todd confirmed that in fact he wasn�t pregnant and peeing on a stick is no easy task. When I was finally able to stop laughing and could say, �I can�t believe it�, he mustered up his best Nebraska redneck accent and simply said� �Well� it seemed like a good idea at the time�.


:: | ::
pretty | glow