Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

Love and marriage... go together like...
...written on 12.28.04, @ 1:01 pm

I really am beginning to wonder if perhaps I�m just really odd. I think most of my life I�ve lived in this little bubble where I thought everyone else thought like me and acted like me. I thought I was normal. In the last couple of years I think I�ve managed to leave the bubble and realize people have some really different ideas about life. I hesitate to say that their ideas are wrong but they just don�t make sense to me and their words sound very bitter and unhappy� and perhaps that is the reason behind their thoughts and actions.

I know that I�m guilty of man bashing from time to time and I won�t really make excuses but I think it�s more of a frustration about communication or just basic human decency than it is about �men� in general. I�m disturbed that most men I talk to really do think that women are evil, out to get their money, skanky whores, and more or less a noose. I don�t know if that�s a broken heart talking or what but it�s sad to me. My usual response is �where do you find these women that you date� and maybe the question I should have been asking was �what is wrong with the rest of my gender�.

How many women out there really don�t pay their way? How many can�t stand on their own 2 feet and in turn �need� men? I just don�t get it and maybe my upbringing wasn�t so bad after all. �Always look out for #1,� meant something completely different to me apparently. I was taught to be self-sufficient and not be a leach. I can�t fathom how you would live any other way but apparently there are a lot of women out there that have perpetuated this stereotype and it pisses me off. Royally.

The last few months I�ve also become really upset by the state of marriage today. It really is a joke. The thing that bothers me about it too is now that we�ve (we being heterosexuals) managed to screw it up so badly we�re telling the homosexuals they can�t sully the good word of �marriage� by joining their lives together. Get over it. I�m not trying to start an argument but �marriage� is not the religious thing you think it is and regardless mind your own damn business. That�s just my take on it. I mean we�re so great at marriage, who are we to tell anyone else whether they can or can�t do it? It kind of reminds me of the government telling me what I can or can�t do with my body.

When and where did we go so wrong that marriage has become this stupid thing? I can�t say all marriages are bad� my parents have been married 33 years. Maybe that�s why I think it should be this great thing and you get married once and it�s a team effort and you work things out? Maybe if people stopped getting married for the dumbest reasons there wouldn�t be such a problem. I want to get married because I want to share my life with someone that I love. I don�t want it because I�m lonely, knocked up, think it�s the next step, think �it�s the right thing to do�, or just because. I realize we don�t live in a perfect world but why make it worse by being stupid?

I�m not really sure why I�m ranting but maybe I just wanted to say I think I am normal. I think I have some pretty good ideas about how things should work. I hate feeling like everyone else is retarded.


:: | ::
pretty | glow