Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

Liar liar pants on fire
...written on 05.24.05, @ 2:12 pm

I ran across this interesting little website about secrets when I was reading Penny today. Penny's thoughts of course are that secrets are evil. Okay, maybe not exactly but anyway...

I went to the site, kind of intrigued by the concept. Basically you send a postcard revealing your secret and the postcard is posted online for the world to see. It is kind of interesting really but the former liar and secret keeper inside me sort of wonders what that's all about.

I don't keep many secrets anymore and I don't lie. I found out 10 years ago that I'm really not that great at it. I used to lie to James or withhold information (which I'm told is just the same as lying and I'm not sure I agree) and he always found out in the long run. Not healthy and I'll admit I was retarded.

I won't try to come off as a saint because I'm pretty sure I do a lot of things wrong but at this point I don't understand the need to lie or keep secrets (with some exception on the secret part). I've found that as repulsive as the truth may be sometimes, it keeps you out of trouble. You don't have to remember who you told what. It used to be that I'd have to cross-reference my brain just to remember what I had previously told my parents. One lie turned into a billion lies and slowly but surely throughout the years, the lies have come out. It is actually pretty devastating when I start thinking about it but my parents know I'm honest at this point in my life. We typically laugh about something I did and I wonder now why it was so important to try to cover something up.

So anyway... I found the site interesting but it really made me wonder how much better some of those people would feel if they just came clean... with themselves in the first place and with the rest of the world.


:: | ::
pretty | glow