Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

A whole lot of shtuff...
...written on 01.14.05, @ 12:06 pm

I know it's shocking and new but I thought for once I'd comment on what other people are talking about these days. I think I get so caught up in my own drama that I forget there's a whole world outside of the 10 miles I reside in.

I'm politically stupid.... I think we all know that. With the exception of voting for Kerry in the latest farce of an election, I don't keep up as much as I should with what's going on in the world of politics. I know. I suck. However, with the help of some of my new favorite people I'm getting back on track or at least just learning something.

I'm going to pick on Will today... or at least send him some traffic.

First off, there's just the plain weirdness of our president. Honestly it doesn't get any more bizarre than that. Suddenly people can't look at the president? Is he having a bad hair day? Does he have a zit the size of TX? Just because I'm stubborn I'm sure I would have stared at him and gotten arrested for something stupid like illegal use of my eyeballs. I'm sure that's a law somewhere. There's more to politics than politics apparently... thank you Will.

It's no surprise to any of my readers that sex is something near and dear to my heart. It's a wonderful thing. I hate to say it but this great country of ours is backwards in it's thinking about it and how we make people view it. Since the dawn of time women have been taught that it's a dirty thing and men have been praised for how well they spread themselves around. It's one of the worst double standards ever but I have more cause for concern over how we're educating our kids.

I'm well aware that there are a ton of different views about pre-marital sex and birth control usage and I respect all of those views. What I don�t respect is the blatant idiocy of not teaching kids the facts about sex. I�ve read it before and hadn�t had much time to say much about it but Will brought it to my attention again and now I�m pissed. First of all I don�t think religion has a place in schools. I really don�t. If you want to pray over your lunch or the test you�re about to take, more power to you but I don�t think it�s appropriate to have religious based sex education. You want to teach abstinence? Cool, do it in your home but don�t go out and tell students (who may not share your spiritual and moral beliefs) that condoms are essentially ineffective and �boys don�t get hurt by premarital sex while girls suffer for life�.

By funding these types of programs Bush thinks he�s setting some sort of moral compass (which should be set at home in my opinion) and in reality he�s funding an education that in time will cause huge problems. You think the pregnancy rate is bad now? Just wait. You think the STD issues we�re facing are bad? It�s gonna get a lot worse. Teach kids the basic facts about sex, what they can do to prevent disease and pregnancy, and leave the moral lessons to parents. I�m starting to think my backwoods education wasn�t so bad after all. At least I got both sides of the coin in one class. I always sort of wonder how so many girls get pregnant on accident and now I know� totally ignorant education.

In other news, I think Judd sneezed on the internet because I'm feeling a little craptastic. I hate you and your fun t-shirt and fancy raise. I think I'm going to start calling you Captain Kangaroo. Seriously� how the hell do you jump that high? Freak.

However snooty and mean spirited this might be... something really needs to be done. Somehow Ashlee Simpson has been booed on national television and still managed to surpass her sister in album sales. I�m not a huge fan of either but seriously folks� who buys this crap? I mean� besides the billions of 14-year-old girls? She can�t sing, she can�t really dance that well, and she blames her band when she can�t remember what she�s lip-synching to. Hello? I don�t get it.

In the event you�re still reading all this nonsense�

I�m going raw vegan. More on that to come, but I like their site so I thought I�d highlight it. I think sometimes when you start changing your life, the rest of the pieces that make sense fall into place. This is one of those things. I promise I�ll follow up on why later. I�ve already talked too much.

And Judd� I kid, I kid.


:: | ::
pretty | glow