Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

I like my job for once.
...written on 08.03.05, @ 3:30 pm

In all my excitement about actually having hormones again I forgot to mention my review.

See, I had my annual review. After 6 years it�s old hat. I really just want to walk in there and say, �what�s the bottom line�� much like my clients. I don�t have that luxury though because I still have so much I need to learn. So much. So I get to plod in there and listen to how much I suck (or don�t suck as is the case) and then plod back to my desk and keep working.

Last year I had had enough right before my review. If they didn�t give me a raise I was going to quit. It�s one thing to get paid next to nothing and be none the wiser for it but something entirely different when you know you�re �grossly underpaid� according to your peers and you do the same thing as they do. The year before that I had not gotten a raise because for an entire year I failed to perform some function that I was unaware I was supposed to and no one bothered to mention� for an entire year.

I got a 17% raise last year. It sounds like a lot but when you make nothing to begin with� it�s not as big as it sounds. It was a start and I was willing to give it some more time.

This year I was expecting 4% at the most since we operate on a 3-4% average around here and I had gotten the huge raise last year. I don�t think I did anything outstanding in the last year. I even interviewed somewhere else.

To my surprise� management pushed for a $4,000 raise this year. If you�d like the math, that�s somewhere around 12%. For a �single� girl with no bills� that�s a nice chunk of change.

I even got a pretty little speech�

Jenn, most days I have no idea where you see yourself going and if you want to be an admin forever, that�s fine too. It�s hard to find quality admins and you�re one of them. We�re just trying to show our appreciation for all you do and get you to where you should be.

How sweet�


:: | ::
pretty | glow