Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

The pile of trash
...written on 07.28.05, @ 10:09 am

Going through the pile of trash at the house makes me almost ill. It is making Todd sick� we think. There�s enough mold and rot in this pile to last me a lifetime. It makes me mentally ill and I don�t even have a connection to it other than I�m in love with the owner.

The thing that bothers me the most is all the stuff we�ve found that once had great meaning and value to Todd�s grandmother is now in ruins.

To make a long story short, the house was supposed to go to Todd when grandma died. On her deathbed (basically) Todd�s mom had grandma change the will so that she would have it because she didn�t think Todd would be responsible enough to take over the house. What a joke.

Todd was 22 and had spent the better part of 5 or 6 years being on his own or taking care of grandma. He knew what these things meant to her. He knew the history of the house and the property. His grandfather built that house and died in that house.

Upon Grandma�s death, mom managed to obtain a $200k mortgage on the house� which had never had a mortgage*. Then she ripped down all of the garage and porch roof trusses that Todd had started. She had the entire interior painted by some hack job that managed to paint all of the trim too. She packed up the house with all the memorabilia and put it and unused furniture outside along the side of the house under tarps and on top of pallets. We�re talking about a pile that was 30 feet long or better that spanned about 6 feet wide and was 4 or 5 feet tall in most places. Now she seems to think that all of it should be salvageable. She has to be on crack.

As mentioned before, I did find grandma�s china fully intact which was amazing considering it was in cardboard boxes practically in the elements. There has been some kitchen type stuff that I have been able to keep like mixing bowls and what not but mostly just rotten garbage.

Last night was the worst and the final straw. Todd found 2 Rubbermaid tubs full of grandma�s old old old china plates that she displayed. You know what I�m talking about. Decorative plates that used to hang on the walls. Now, they�re really not my thing but I remember my mom used to have them and absolutely cherished them. I�m sure they�re lovingly stored in a box somewhere. These plates on the other hand� Almost everything I unwrapped was in pieces. It made me want to scream at Todd�s mom. More responsible my ass. Todd may not have kept these things but he sure as hell wouldn�t have treated them the way his mom did.

Now, in what seems like a pretty good pattern for her life� Todd is cleaning up after her. Last night was the final straw I think. He said once the pile was gone and the house is completely ours he�s not speaking to her if he can help it. It sounds harsh but this isn�t the first time mom has done something screwy.

*She has absolutely nothing to show for that $200k either. Nothing. Where did the money go?


:: | ::
pretty | glow