Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

Tag. You're it
...written on 06.01.05, @ 2:22 pm

I seem to be getting tagged with the meme bugs lately and since I aim to please I'll humor Jess

The Book Meme

1. Total Number of Books I've Owned: I think I've topped the count at about 500 but right now I'm down to about 250. I usually only keep the things that mean something to me.

2. Last Book I Bought: I actually can't really remember since I've been using the library a lot but the last book purchased for me was Walk On: The Spiritual Journey of U2. I'm a huge fan and it was my birthday. I haven't read it yet but I will soon.

3. Last Book I Read: I'm almost done with Trinity by Leon Uris

4. Five Books That Mean A lot to Me: (you have to be kidding, I read non-stop. Hard to pick 5)

1. Harry Potter (I can't pick just one) - JK Rowlings. These books, while written for children speak to me in a strange way. I think imagination dies at some point and that saddens me as an adult. These books have been some of the most relaxing and fun reads I've had in a long time. Cliche... probably.

2. Kaffir Boy - Mark Mathabane. I read this when I was probably 14 or 15 and it has stuck with me. Sad, Scary, and hopeful at the same time.

3. The Mists of Avalon - Marion Zimmer Bradley. The power struggle over camelot as told from a woman's perspective. This one is important simply because I believe in it and I've read it so many times. Marion was a good writer and I've always liked her "female perspective" books.

4. Colorado, 1870 - 2000 - William Henry Jackson, John Fielder. Okay, so it's a photography book but here's the thing... I love John Fielder almost as much as I love Ansel Adams. I also love Colorado and it's interesting to me to see the changes from then to now and read the commentary on where we're going. I think it's important to step back and take a good look at what is happening to our incredible state.

5. The Hobbit - J.R.R. Tolkien. This book is probably the reason I've always loved fantastical sort of books. As a child I loved Narnia and The Last of the Really Great Whangdoodles but I think reading The Hobbit when I did really cemented a life long love.

I think it's pretty obvious I don't read non-fiction very often. I think it's because I get enough of real life every day and it's always been my thought that books are supposed to transport you somewhere else for a while. I'm not against reading very heavy books and I do every once in a while because I also like to exercise my brain but I always seem to come back to the stories that require imagination.

I tag Greg because he has the cajones to call mother nature a "fat assed bitch" and Judd because he hasn't posted in days and I figure he needs something to do.

Just one little thing more.. if you're a fan of a hot and steamy bath, I love my Aqua Erotica book. Not only is it waterproof.. some of the stories rock!


:: | ::
pretty | glow