Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

Munchkin
...written on 02.02.06, @ 11:14 am

We have the munchkin this week. He turned 4 on 1/20 and he's huge. He's tall and already outweighs a 5 year old distant relative by 3 pounds. He's in no way fat... but he's going to be a stocky kid.

Whenever we have Ryley for more than 24 hours by ourselves we get phone calls from all sorts of relatives making sure everything is okay. I think both of our families seem to think we're out of our element or something. I was a kid... I remember getting punished. I'm pretty sure I can figure it out. Well... except for that refusing to eat thing. I'm a little stumped over that one and it frustrates Todd.

He is a constant surprise to me. One minute crying for no reason (except for him there is a reason... maybe I don't remember childhood that much) and then the next minute giggling the giggles of happy children the world over.

He has these strange moments where he tells us things that no 4 year old should know or be subjected to. Mostly to do with his mother. The latest involves not being able to sleep because mommy screams when Daddy Dave (that would be her boyfriend) is hitting her. No 4 year old kid that I know can make that up. I'd go into more detail about all that but I started a different space separate from here to document that. It's in the infancy stages and there are only a handful of entries but it will document our custody struggles, his condition and just my struggles as a step-mom learning to cope with all of this. More or less an angry journal and if you'd like the link let me know but don't expect greatness. I just needed someplace separate to talk about that part of our life.

We're the source of any discipline Ryley gets. His Poppa (grandpa) is too old and infirm to really make a difference there and that is who he basically lives with when he's not with us. We struggle with sending him home to a place that doesn't show much promise for a childhood. He knows he has to behave with us. He cries a lot with us because of this and I'd imagine as a learned behavior. We don't give in to crying. You'd think he hates being around us because it's always "no this, and no that" or instructions on how to act like a normal human but shockingly he cried on the phone with his mom last night and said he didn't want to leave us because he'd miss us pretty bad...

That kid breaks my heart... but tomorrow is off to the museum to see the dinosaurs as promised.


:: | ::
pretty | glow