Site
new
old

Me
bio

Contact
notes
book
mail

Reads
juddhole
victorianna
vividdreamer
zlicius
djlit
sleepyzoe
serenaville
ashtraygurl
porktornado
thedailywtf
i-girl
ubergrrl
scubafreak
kitchenwitch
aloka
katy-bug
hodgson
reynedecoupe
nicim
thenumber9

Thanks
design
host

Extra


Locations of visitors to this page

Carolyn�s Mother once removed�
...written on 01.21.05, @ 12:58 pm

Todd made the mistake of leaving a gardening catalog at my house last weekend. We�ve gotten to the point where he leaves things with me. I�m currently driving around with a belt sander in my trunk. To say we�re comfortably domestic is an understatement. I made dinner for him last week to the astonishment of my family. Rumor has it I can�t cook because of an unfortunate corn bread incident when I was 12. Unless I�m making sour cream apple pie� I�m not to be trusted in the kitchen. I managed to make something in my new crock-pot and Todd seemed to like it. He�s not dead, so it must not have been too bad.

I love gardening. I love being outside in the dirt playing with plants. I have no idea where this came from since we didn�t do gardens or anything when I was young. My mom attempted grass once but that didn�t last long. Grass in the middle of a forest just doesn�t work out somehow. I�m guessing the vast amounts of snow didn�t help matters either. Last summer Aimee and I actually did a garden for mom. We bought the plants she likes, tilled the garden area mom had set up, and planted where she directed us to. Lord only knows what it�s going to look like once spring arrives but we made the effort. She�s always wanted a garden. My uncle is actually an avid gardener too. His specialty is roses. He has quite a few different varieties. My grandfather (their father) had an absolutely gorgeous garden. One might say I get it from them but it was never something we did.

I was looking through the catalog and I was oohing and aahing over all of it. I used to do this when I lived at home too. Mom would look over my shoulder and say, �grandpa used to have those�. I started picturing Todd�s house and the property� what he wants to do with it and I started planning his garden. It didn�t even occur to me that he might not want one. I wanted one and it didn�t even occur to me that he might not want me messing with his house. I�ve already picked out his paint for him. I helped him decide what kind of floors he should have and tile in the bathroom.

I broached the subject really delicately. I mentioned that I had been through the catalog and there was some really great stuff he could do if he wanted. Suddenly I was his master gardener and he wanted to know what I was going to do with his garden or lack thereof. I started telling him my ideas and he was interjecting with what he had had in mind and it was just nice.

The important thing about all of this is that suddenly I�m not scared of my ideas. Scared is a bad word. I�m not scared to voice my ideas is perhaps better. Todd doesn�t put them down. If he doesn�t like it we talk about it and come to some sort of conclusion. I�m not worried that he�s going to think I�m silly. He doesn�t think I�m trying to run the show because I think something through to my liking before mentioning it to him.

I think I�m so excited, I dreamt about plants last night. I can�t decide if it was a dream or a nightmare but it was about plants. I must be losing my mind.

We�re having a girl�s night out tonight. Remember months ago when I was raving endlessly about a band called Carolyn�s Mother? Well, they split and it was sad and I was bummed. Last week I got an email from Rhett (not a personal email, just an announcement email, don�t get excited), who was the singer for Carolyn�s Mother. He formed a new band called Ten Cent Redemption. They are playing at Herman�s tonight. It�s a girl�s night out. WOO HOO! About damn time� it�s been awhile.

So, if you�ve got nothing better to do tonight� half price tickets are at the website!


:: | ::
pretty | glow